Our History

Steeped in History and Honored with the Tradition of the Game.

Founded in 1922.

Oak Hills is one of the oldest and most respected private Member-owned country clubs in the country. Originally founded in 1922 as the Alamo Country Club, Oak Hills was designed by premier architect A.W. Tillinghast— perhaps the most noted golf course designer of his time, with a course portfolio including Winged Foot, Baltusrol, and San Francisco Golf Club. Tillinghast brought to life his vision of beauty and challenging play on the course now regularly enjoyed by a select number of players. Alamo Country Club ceased operations during the war and started again as Oak Hills Country Club in 1946.

Golfers of all abilities are not only attracted to Oak Hills for its rich history and prestigious reputation, but for its steady pace of play which makes the golf experience at Oak Hills that much more enjoyable. Just play it once and you’ll fall in love with it. We welcome you to take it for a test drive.    

Texas Open Champions

1961  Arnold Palmer*
1962  Arnold Palmer*
1963  Phil Rodgers
1964  Bruce Crampton
1965  Frank Beard
1966  Harold Henning
1977  Hale Irwin*
1978  Ron Streck
1979  Lou Graham*
1980  Lee Trevino
1981  Bill Rogers*
1982  Jay Hass
1983  Jim Colbert
1984  Calvin Peete
1985  John Mahaffey*
1986  Ben Crenshaw
1987  Tom Watson* (Inaugural Tour Championship)
1988  Corey Pavin*
1989  Donnie Hammond
1990  Mark O'Meara*
1991  Blaine McCallister
1992  Nick Price*
1993  Jay Hass
1994  Bob Estes

*major championship winner

The AT&T Championship

2002  Dana Quigley2003 Craig Stadler*
2004  Mark McNulty
2005  Jay Hass
2006  Fred Funk
2007  John Cook
2008  John Cook
2009   Phil Blackmar
2010   Rod Spittle

*major championship winner

Home of the 2001`U.S. Junior Amatuer

Champion: Henry Liaw

5403 Fredericksburg Road San Antonio, TX 78229
(210) 349-5151
© Copyright 2020 Oak Hills Country Club. Site by Clubessential
Site Scripts
Hide Click to Edits:
FED Scripts 
CWS & Content Load